Search Results New WhatsApp feature to help stop spreading scam messages

WhatsApp is working on new notifications for spam and chain messages, according to the latest report.

Designed to help cut down on chain letter style messages, the new feature will warn users if they receive a message or link that has been forwarded 25 times or more from one device.

Forwarded messages are one of the main ways fake news and scams are spread on the messaging app.

Scroll down for video

Designed to help cut down on chain letter style messages, the new WhatsApp feature (stock image) will warn users if they receive a message or link that has been forwarded 25 times or more from one device

The warning will read ‘Forwarded Many Times’ at the top of the chat under the sender’s name.

The notice appears when users receive spam but also before they are potentially about to forward a dodgy message.

At the top of the forward screen, a message will appear that reads: ‘A message you are forwarding has been forwarded many times’, writes WhatsAppen.com.

However, it appears the company is not blocking messages forwarded multiple times.

The feature is currently still in testing mode and there is no guarantee it will be rolled out for all users.

WhatsApp has been contacted for comment.

Earlier this month, fresh warnings were issued over a WhatsApp scam that tricks users into paying a ‘subscription’ for using the messaging app.

The scam, which first surfaced last year, charges users 99p ($1.38) to renew their subscription.

The message also contains instructions to receive a lifetime subscription for a small fee and are being used by criminals to trick people into providing their payment details. 

ActionFraud, the UK’s national fraud and cyber crime reporting centre, has warned users to to fall for it.

‘Long term users of WhatsApp will remember paying a 0.99p annual fee to use the messaging service,’ it said.

The warning will read 'Forwarded Many Times' at the top of the chat under the sender's name. The notice appears when users receive spam but also before they are potentially about to forward a dodgy message

‘In 2016, this was scrapped by Facebook who took over running of the company after buying it for £11.4bn ($15.8bn).

That means since 2016, the service has been free for every user.

‘Whilst late adopters of the service might look at the email below and simply brush it off, long term users will remember paying and could quite easily think the app has gone back to its subscription model and get caught out.’

The emails claim your ‘subscription will be ending soon’ and are after your banking information.

The message reads ‘Your subscription has expired. To Verify your account and purchase a lifetime subscription for just 0.99 GBP simply tap on this link’.

People who have received the message should delete it immediately, Action Fraud recommends.

If you have clicked on the link it contains, you should also run antivirus software to ensure your device has not been infected with malware.

It is unclear exactly how many users have been targeted or how criminals obtained the phone numbers.

Source by:-dailymail
Share: